All the way up the penal chain, in charge of implementing repression, police and gendarmes can make the daily and overwhelming observation of the failure of the current public policies on drugs and its various perverse effects.

 

France is the most repressive country in Europe, yet the prohibition introduced by the 1970 december's law did not reduce drug consumption or crime. On the contrary.

 

With a wealth of experience and exercise of public security on fieldwork, the Police Contre la Prohibition collective aims to provide a testimony so far unheard, to educate lawmakers and the public on the ineptitude of prohibition and its disastrous consequences. It further intends to undermine the many taboos and assumptions which preclude rational thinking about drugs.

 

Our collective extends its thinking to police practices and culture : drug use repression, law enforcement  management consisting only in achieving statistical goals, and that of conducting systematic identity checks are interdependent. They actually form a toxic system which neither serves public safety, and public health, nor public service itself.

 

PCP contemplates being a source of proposals and of information.  Equally, PCP’s goal is also to participate in the emergence of a public debate on drugs policies, and to promote a political and penal alternative to the current situation.

 

 

If law enforcement agrees that repression is useless, it's necessary to question why...

 

 

• The PCP is supportive of decriminalizing the use of all narcotics, and of a realistic and consistent drugs policy based on prevention, information and harm reduction. The repeal of article L.3421-1 of the Public Health Code is the absolute prerequisite to a legislative change.

 

• The PCP considers it necessary to implement fastly a regulation of the cannabis market.
Trafficking, crime, violence and the insecurity wich they bring about are devastating. Curbing traffic stands as a public safety and public health emergency. More and more countries are experiencing the success of a controlled legalization of cannabis. Why not France?

 

• PCP believes that drugs are much less of a scourge than prohibition itself.
Drug users and occasional experimenters, whom the law considers to be "sick-delinquents", often have late access to information, recommendations related to consumption, and care when necessary. The sword of Damocles of the repression hampers prevention and harm reduction undertakings.
Drugs, from the most trivial or the most controlled use, to the most problematic addictions, are matters of public health.

 

• The PCP collective will advocate simple ways of involving law enforcement in prevention and harm reduction. Police and gendarmes also have help and rescue purpose, by assisting and bringing relief to drug users. For example, Naloxone should meet the emergency criteria for possible interventions. The knowledge by the police and gendarmes of the relevant CSAPA and CAARUD sectors, in order to guide drug users towards preventive action, would ideally and swiftly replace police custody or criminal fines.

 

• Law enforcement members of PCP consider that their commitment to the public service and the exercise of their free will are not incompatible.  Accordingly, they undertake to refrain from initiating proceedings against drug users, to give them advice or warnings, and where necessary, to provide them with the address and contact details of the adequate and easily accessible care centers.

 

• Inseparable from narcotics use repression, the PCP will spread about the absurdity of the statistical objectives policy which cripples law enforcement, its image, its credibility, and deteriorates its relationship with the communities where more than elsewhere, appeasement and dialogue are urgently needed.
In this respect, Article L.3421-1 of the Public Health Code can not longer be used as a pretext or a social control tool.
PCP will therefore bring into the debate the voice of officials currently on duty and held by secrecy and discretion obligations, and pass on their testimony.

 

• The collective believes that the statistical objectives management as well as accountability and performance bonuses afforded to department heads also represent a toxic system with respect to the very enforcement of public safety, which would deserve a parliamentary inquiry.

 

• Relying on its experience in the fieldwork as regards drug policies, PCP will advocate approaches and initiatives to restore the relationship between law enforcement and communities.

 

• PCP will in particular reconsider and make proposals regarding the sensitive issue of identity checks, its meaning, objectives, and modalities .

 

• The collective will pay particular attention to reliability and technical evolution of detection tests used in the context of roadside checks. It is indeed ethically questionable to punish a driver based on a positive test, well beyond the effective time of an active ingredient, especially THC.

 

• Political action has failed for nearly 50 years. Police Contre la Prohibition collective believes that waste of public money and law enforcement and justice working time devoted to repression and punishment must be brought to an end, and that broader approach to harm reduction must now be a priority for the public service.
In this respect, another imperative is to free the criminal justice system from what should not be considered offenses, for it to allocate its resources to investigating, judging, and punishing real crimes.
 
• As a representative of police and gendarmerie officials who have been thinking about drug policies, have witnessed professional practices and behaviors associated with drug use repression, and therefore have proposals to make, PCP will seek to be heard and auditioned in the framework of parliamentary committees dealing with these issues.
 
• The PCP collective is not affiliated with any political or ideological structure. It's independent, autonomous, and will remain so.
PCP will be able to contribute to or participate in any initiative, and will willingly lend its assistance and specific expertise in the form of partnerships, with any collective, association or organization pursuing the same objective:  reforming of public policies on drugs.

 

 
PCP's founders :

 

 

Bénédicte Desforges

Former police lieutenant. Served in an anti-crime service in the Paris suburbs, then in Paris 18th district. Authored two storybooks on cops, a blog and articles advocating the decriminalization of drug use. Adressed an open letter to Parliament members in june 2018 on the debate on the bill introducing a new sort of criminal fine punishing narcotics use.

( blog )

 

Jean-Luc Garcia

Former gendarme and anti-prohibitionist activist. He took a public stand in open letters to two presidents of the french Republic : François Hollande advocating the cannabis legalization, and then Emmanuel Macron in march 2018 adding to his arguments a critical review on the impending tort fine for drugs use.

 

Thierry Tintoni

Police captain retired since 2017. Founder of the Sud-Intérieur union. Served in a district police station in Paris, as a judicial police officer, in the french internal security police, and with the public order services in Paris. His trade union activity led him to criticize new public management and statistical objectives policy, relying in particular on drug use repression. Former member of the Justice commitee of EELV (european green party)

 

 

PCP's manifesto

version française

Tout en amont de la chaine pénale, et en charge de mettre en œuvre la répression, policiers et gendarmes peuvent faire le constat, quotidien et accablant, de l’échec de l’actuelle politique publique en matière de stupéfiants et de ses multiples effets pervers.

 

La France est le pays le plus répressif d’Europe, pourtant la prohibition instaurée par la loi de décembre 1970 n’a fait baisser ni la consommation de drogues, ni la criminalité. Bien au contraire.

 

Fort de l’expérience et de l’exercice de la sécurité publique sur le terrain, le collectif Police Contre la Prohibition a pour objectif d’apporter un témoignage jusqu’à présent inaudible, de sensibiliser le législateur et l’opinion publique sur l’ineptie de la prohibition et ses conséquences désastreuses, et de mettre à mal les nombreux tabous et présupposés qui excluent toute réflexion rationnelle au sujet des drogues.

 

Le collectif étend sa réflexion aux pratiques et à la culture policière : répression de l’usage de drogues, politique du chiffre et contrôles d’identité sont interdépendants et forment un système toxique qui ne sert ni la sécurité et la santé publiques, ni le service public.

 

Le PCP se fixe d’être une force de proposition et d’information, de participer à l’émergence d’un débat public de fond sur la politique des drogues, et de promouvoir une alternative politique et pénale.

 

 

Si les forces de l’ordre s’accordent à dire que la répression ne sert à rien, il faut s’interroger...

 

 

• Le PCP s’affirme en faveur de la dépénalisation de l’usage de tous les stupéfiants et d’une politique des drogues réaliste et cohérente, basée sur la prévention, l’information et la réduction des risques. L’abrogation de l'article L.3421-1 du code de la santé publique est le préalable absolu d’un changement de législation.

 

• Le PCP estime nécessaire la mise en œuvre rapide d’une régulation du marché du cannabis.
Le trafic, la criminalité, la violence et l’insécurité qu’il engendre, sont dévastateurs. Enrayer le trafic est une urgence de sécurité et de santé publiques. De plus en plus de pays font l’expérience réussie d’une légalisation contrôlée du cannabis, pourquoi pas la France ?

 

• Le PCP considère que la drogue est bien moins un fléau que la prohibition.
Les usagers de drogues et les expérimentateurs occasionnels, que la loi considère comme des délinquants-malades, ont souvent un accès tardif à l’information, aux recommandations liées à la consommation, et aux soins quand nécessaire. L’épée de Damoclès de la répression est un frein à la prévention et à la réduction des risques.
Les drogues, de l’usage le plus anodin, ou le plus maitrisé, à la toxicomanie la plus problématique, relèvent de la santé publique.

 

• Le collectif PCP proposera des moyens simples d’implication des forces de l’ordre dans la prévention et la réduction des risques. La police et la gendarmerie ont aussi une vocation d’assistance et de secours, ce dont les usagers de drogues peuvent faire l’objet. La dotation de Naloxone répond par exemple aux critères d’urgence de possibles interventions. La connaissance par les policiers et gendarmes des CSAPA et CAARUD de secteur, pour éventuellement y orienter des usagers à titre d’action préventive, remplacerait positivement et en quelques minutes, la garde à vue ou l'amende délictuelle.

 

• Parce que le sens du service public et le libre arbitre ne sont pas incompatibles avec leur métier, les membres des forces de l’ordre du collectif PCP s’engagent à ne pas initier de procédure à l’encontre d’usagers de drogues, à leur dispenser quelques conseils ou mises en garde, et le cas échéant leur fournir l’adresse de la structure de proximité appropriée.

 

• Indissociable de la répression de l’usage de stupéfiants, le PCP se fera l’écho de l’absurdité de la politique du chiffre qui gangrène la police, son image, sa crédibilité, et détériore ses rapports avec la population là où plus qu’ailleurs, la paix et le dialogue sont nécessaires.

L'article L.3421-1 du code de la santé publique ne peut pas servir de prétexte et d'outil de contrôle social.
Le collectif portera la voix des fonctionnaires en activité et soumis à l’obligation de réserve, et relayera leurs témoignages.

 

• Le collectif estime que la politique du chiffre et les indemnités de responsabilité et de performance des chefs de service sont un système toxique pour la sécurité publique qui justifierait une commission d’enquête parlementaire.

 

• Partant du même éclairage de terrain porté sur la politique des drogues, le PCP proposera des pistes de réflexion et des initiatives pour restaurer le lien police-population.

 

• Le collectif mènera une réflexion sur le sens, les objectifs, et les modalités des contrôles d’identité.

 

• Le PCP portera une attention particulière à la fiabilité et l’évolution technique des tests de détection utilisés dans le cadre des contrôles routiers. Il est contestable d'un point de vue éthique de sanctionner un conducteur au prétexte de test positif, au delà du temps de l'effet d'un principe actif, en particulier le THC.

 

• L’action publique est en échec depuis presque 50 ans. Le collectif Police Contre la Prohibition estime que le gâchis d’argent public et de temps de travail de police et de justice consacré à la répression et à la sanction pénale a assez duré, et que la réduction des risques au sens large doit être une priorité pour le service public.

L’autre impératif étant de décharger la chaine pénale de ce qui ne devrait pas constituer une infraction, et la laisser rechercher, juger et sanctionner la vraie délinquance.

 

• Représentant des fonctionnaires de la police et de la gendarmerie ayant entrepris une réflexion au sujet des politiques publiques des drogues et des pratiques et usages professionnels associés à la répression du délit d'usage, et puisqu'ils ont des propositions à formuler, le PCP demandera à être entendu dans le cadre d'éventuelles commissions parlementaires.

 

• Le collectif PCP n'est affilié à aucune structure politique ou idéologique, il est indépendant, autonome, et le restera.
Il pourra contribuer ou participer à toute initiative, et prêtera volontiers son concours et son expertise particulière sous forme de partenariat, avec tout collectif, association ou organisation poursuivant le même objectif : la réforme des politiques publiques en matière de drogues.

 

Les fondateurs du collectif :

 

 

Bénédicte Desforges

Ex lieutenant de police. A exercé dans un service d’anti criminalité en banlieue, puis à Paris 18è arrdt. Auteur de deux livres d’histoires de flics, d'un blog et d'articles argumentant en faveur de la décriminalisation de l'usage de drogues. Adresse une lettre ouverte aux parlementaires en juin 2018 à l'occasion du projet de loi instaurant une amende délictuelle pour usage de stupéfiants.

( blog )

 

Jean-Luc Garcia

Ex gendarme et militant anti-prohibitionniste de longue date. Il a pris publiquement position dans des lettres ouvertes adressées au président de la République : à François Hollande plaidant pour la légalisation du cannabis, et puis Emmanuel Macron en mars 2018 ajoutant à ses arguments un avis critique sur l'amende forfaitaire délictuelle pour usage de stupéfiants.

 

Thierry Tintoni

Capitaine de police retraité depuis 2017. Fondateur du syndicat Sud-Intérieur. A exercé en commissariat de quartier à Paris, en police judiciaire, aux RG et à l'ordre public à Paris. Son activité syndicale l'a amené à critiquer la politique du chiffre, s'appuyant notamment sur la répression de l'usage de drogues. A été membre de la commission Justice des Verts.

 

 

english version

Manifeste